This site is part of the Informa Connect Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 3099067.

Brand Logo

Female Innovator of the Year Award

This award seeks to honour the women who have made significant contributions to the fields of tech, media, and telecoms across Africa.

About the Female Innovator of the Year Award

The Female Innovator of the Year Award seeks to honour and celebrate women who have made significant contributions to the fields of technology, media, and telecommunications across Africa. This prestigious accolade recognizes the outstanding achievements and leadership of female innovators who are driving progress, breaking barriers, and inspiring the next generation of women in these dynamic industries.

In an era where diversity and inclusion are critical to fostering innovation and growth, this award highlights the pivotal role of women in shaping the future of tech, media, and telecoms. It acknowledges the remarkable accomplishments of those who have leveraged their expertise, creativity, and vision to create impactful solutions, advance industry standards, and contribute to the continent's socio-economic development.

Award Criteria

Leadership and Vision

The female innovator must demonstrate exceptional leadership and a clear vision for advancing technology, media, or telecommunications, inspiring others through her work and achievements.

Impact and Influence

The individual's contributions should have a significant and positive impact on businesses, communities, or the broader industry, with measurable outcomes and widespread influence.

Mentorship and Advocacy

The awardee should actively engage in mentorship and advocacy, supporting the growth and development of other women in tech, media, or telecoms, and promoting diversity and inclusion.

2024 Awards Timeline

Here is the timeline for the 2024 Africa Tech Festival Awards!

Key information:

  • The shortlist will consist of the top 5 candidates per category and will be subject to a public vote.
  • The top three shortlisted candidates with the most votes from the public will progress to the finals.
  • The finalists will be sent to our expert panel of judges, who will determine the winners.
  • The winners will be announced live at the ceremony in Cape Town on 13 November.

2023 Award Winner

Winner: Néné Maïga, CEO, Orange Botswana

Néné Maïga became the CEO of Orange Botswana in September 2021. Prior to that, she was appointed chief of Staff to the CEO of Orange Middle East and Africa in May 2018. In this position, she led structuring projects for the whole MEA region, aiming at improving value creation and inclusivity. She set up an innovative graduate programme and leads OMEA’s initiative to become a role model for gender parity.

‘Nene Maiga been a trailblazer on the Botswana market, improving the use of mobile Internet in the country and increasing speeds to some of the very fastest on the continent. She has launched 5G and has promoted health solutions based on that technology. In little less than 8 months, their Orange Money service distributed over 1 million digital instant loans, and their new app became a strong asset. Nene has also launched the very successful Orange coding school where hundreds of citizens have been trained.’